Public Holidays

Public Holidays in Singapore

Singapore considers holidays from different cultures as public holidays because of its multicultural diversity. 

Every employee will be entitled to 11 paid public holidays a year in accordance to the Employment Act. These include New Year’s Day, Chinese New Year, Good Friday, Labour Day, Vesak Day, Hari Raya Puasa, Hari Raya Haji, National Day,  Deepavali, and Christmas Day.

You can find dates on public holidays in 2020 here.

Public Holiday benefits

Every employee covered under Part IV of the Employment Act is entitled to a paid holiday during public holidays, with the following rules applied:

  • The specific dates can be substituted by any other dates if agreed by both employer and employee;
  • If a public holiday falls on a rest day, the next working day (usually a Monday) shall be a paid holiday;
  • If any public holiday falls on a day when the employee is not required to work, the employee can get accordingly extra days’ pay or have extra days off.
However, there is a common practice in Singapore that all employees are given the same public holidays benefit as mentioned above.

Did this answer your question?